Tammy Faye talked to me about dollar stores

14 May

So once I emailed Tammy Faye and she wrote back, the next day! Tammy Faye Messner was an amazing human being and is not a pop culture joke. Don’t bash her. I love her. May she rest in peace. I am not religious, FYI. I also got a voice mail from her once because of an amazing friend but I can’t even talk about that right now.  I am still all worked up from this unearthing. There will be more Tammy posts. I am going to try and heed her advice. Scroll on down for the emails.

> From: Tammyfayetalk@aol.com

> Date: Mon, 7 Jun 2004 10:02:47 EDT
> Subject: Re: YOU ARE FABULOUS TAMMY!
> To:
> Dearest Kelly,
>
> Thank you for writing me!  I laughed when you said  that about the Dollar
> Store!  I have bought some wonderful things there…sometimes I find lipstick, eyelashes or even thank you cards at our Dollar Store here in Charlotte!!  Ha!
> And you can’t go wrong with a good resale shop!  ALL my clothes are from
> resale, Ross, TJ Maxx or Marshall’s, ALL of them!!
>
> Please tell your mother that I covet her prayers and will be happy to have
> her read my book too.  I just love your spirit, Kelly and pray that you WILL
> make it in NY.  You can do anything if you stay  focused and think of others above yourself.
>
> All my love,
> Tammy Faye
>
Date: Sun, 6 Jun 2004 14:44:15 -0700 (PDT)
> From:
> Subject: YOU ARE FABULOUS TAMMY!
> To: tammy@tammyfaye.com
>
> Hello Ms. Messner,
>
>   My name is Kelly, and write to you out of necessity after watching yet again “The Eyes of Tammy Faye.” I just stopped for a moment and went to your
website, and read your chemo message. You are a strong and powerful woman. People everywhere are wishing you all the best, including me!
A little about me. I am 25, struggling to “make it”  in New York City. Not as an actor, or anything likehat. Just as a person who makes others happy and  has some money left over for fun at the dollar stores! I do have both of your books, and once even payed homage to you in a costume contest – I won $100! I was in college and needed it – thanks!
Anyway, I have never written to a celebrity but you seem so sincere and I wanted to let you know that you are completely and utterly fabulous – and I never use that word lightly. Your jewelery is so cool, and I plan on using some of the tips from your book.
You can beat this cancer! My mom is praying for you too!
>
> HUGS,
5 Responses to “Tammy Faye talked to me about dollar stores”

  1. iknowwhatkillsme May 15, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Do I remember the Jm J and Tammy Faye Show? OF COURSE! How could I forget seeing him in person? Was a childhood dream come true.

  2. james May 14, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    i can’t.
    this is just…..freaking amazing. i can’t!

  3. james May 14, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    this is fucking amazing. genius.

  4. JB May 14, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    Well, this really is incredible. You are so funny–I love it!! Thanks for sharing this with the world.

  5. BG May 14, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    Do you remember the Jm and Tammy Faye Show, co-star Jm J. Bullock? Remember we saw him in Hairspray a few years ago on Broadway?

Leave a Reply

